A Soft Place to Fall (Allison Moorer/Gwil Owen)

 

Allison-Moorer-Show-2003

 

You said I was strong
It looks like you’re wrong
Some nights
I feel so small

I haven’t given up on someday
I can’t find my way
I’m just trying to find
A soft place to fall

A soft place to fall
You said you’d loved me
To have and to hold
A soft place to fall
If you really loved me
Then how could you go?

Like loves’ lonely highway
Keeps all winding
I’m fighting to make sense of it all
Like a cold empty, empty cavern
I’m a million miles from heaven
There’s no one home to call
And no soft place to fall

A soft place to fall
You said you’d loved me
To have and to hold
A soft place to fall
If you really loved me
Then how could you go?

And God’s knows I’ve prayed
At the end of each day
I go down on my knees
And I talk to the floor

I pull the covers up around me
I need angels surrounding
So much for love

A soft place to fall
You said you’d love me
To have and to hold
A soft place to fall
If you really loved me
Then how could you go?

And God knows I’ve prayed
At the end of each day
I go down on my knees
And I talk to the floor
And I’m lightening strikes
And just rips through the night
Cause I need a sign tonight
Or just a knock on my door

I’m just trying to find
A soft place to fall

 

Al buscar un vídeo para rematar esta entrada, descubrí que Allison Moorer estuvo nominada a un premio de la Academia por esta canción, incluida en la banda sonora de la película El hombre que susurraba a los caballos que, evidentemente, no he visto.

 

Un pensamiento en “A Soft Place to Fall (Allison Moorer/Gwil Owen)

  1. Preciosa. Yo si la vi. Y algún tiempo después me encontré con esta composición de Chris Spheeris que tanto me gusta y estas eran las imágenes del vídeo que me recordó precisamente a la película. En ellas se ve a la constelación del Caballo y los propios caballos salvajes del planeta Tierra, se supone, cabalgando libremente. Sobre todo libremente, como el pensamiento
    humano.

    Se que algunos ya lo habrán visto, pero me pareció adecuado para ilustrar mis mejores deseos en este soslticio de invierno para quienes suelen entrar por aquí.
    Mis saludos y gracias
    Artemisa

Responder

