Over The Rainbow (Arlen/Harburg)

Somewhere over the rainbow

Way up high

There’s a land that I heard of

Once in a lullaby

Somewhere over the rainbow

Skies are blue

And the dreams that you dare to dream

Really do come true

Some day I’ll wish upon a star

And wake up where the clouds are far behind me

Where troubles melt like lemondrops

Away above the chimney tops

That’s where you’ll find me

Somewhere over the rainbow

Bluebirds fly

Birds fly over the rainbow

Why then, oh why can’t I?

Some day I’ll wish upon a star

And wake up where the clouds are far behind me

Where troubles melt like lemondrops

Away above the chimney tops

That’s where you’ll find me

Somewhere over the rainbow

Bluebirds fly

Birds fly over the rainbow

Why then, oh why can’t I?

If happy little bluebirds fly

Beyond the rainbow

Why, oh why can’t I?

Fue interpretada por primera vez por Judy Garland. Data de finales de la década de los treinta, siendo el tema más recordado de la película El mago de Oz.

Garland escribió sobre esta canción a Arlen: «”Over the rainbow” se ha convertido en parte de mi vida. Simboliza tan bien los deseos y sueños de la gente que estoy segura de que ése es el motivo por el que la gente llora cuando la oye. La he cantado cientos de veces y sigue siendo la canción que llevo más cerca del corazón»

La canción tal y cómo aparece en la película:

Una versión de la inolvidable Eva Cassidy:

Responder

